God Lawrence is good

There are two clips posted below featuring Jennifer Lawrence post her Oscars wins.

She is just so good to watch. There’s no pretense, there’s no try; no polish, no pre-prepared answers; she isn’t following a behavioural guideline and it’s completely, utterly refreshing.

So, now you’ve watched both, what do you make of her interview, particularly the one where she is interviewed by the press pack?

Some of the questions:

Q. What was the process of getting ready, how many people helped you?

A. The process today was so stressful…. what was the process? I don’t know I just woke up and tried on the dress and it fit and I took a shower, that’s what I did, and then I got my hair and make-up done and then I came to the Oscars. I’m sorry, I did a shot before… sorry, Jesus.

Q. The fall on the way up to the stage – what happened?

A. What do you mean what happened? Look at my dress. I tried to walk up stairs in this dress that’s what happened.

Q. What was going through your mind when you fell down?

A. What went through my mind, ah, a bad word, that I can’t say, that starts with eff.

Q. You’re 22 years old… you’re awfully young to have so much success so far, do you feel that it’s a good thing that it’s coming so early in the career?

A. I hope so, I guess, who knows, I guess we’ll see.

Q. You’re not worried about peaking too soon?

A. Well now I am, God.

What an outrageously stupid bunch of questions and instead of the usual grin and bear and roll out of fed-to-her key messages which are boring and trite, Lawrence’s natural reaction showed the press pack up for what they were – bloody bad at their job and interested in the mundane – getting ready, her dress, tripping, being young as opposed to the incredible honour and recognition of a her talent.

 

Leave a Reply

