Sex ed and a lot to be desired

I’ve struck upon a theory of late. It relates to sex education in Australia and it goes something like this: sex education in Australian schools leaves a lot to be desired.

I don’t know many women, my age, who understand their fertility. To any level. At all.

The reason I (have come) to understand my fertility is a book called Natural Fertility by Francesca Naish. She explained to me, through her book, I can only get pregnant a number of days each cycle. Around ovulation. I can detect ovulation through temperature readings and also through discharge. Women don’t tend to know this. A lot probably find out when they’re experiencing difficulties getting pregnant.

While not Australian, Khloe Kardashian expressed this situation perfectly when discussing her attempts to get pregnant.

“It’s so hard. I never knew about ovulation and the limited amount of time that you have to get pregnant. I never knew about that. No-one ever taught me that.”

It’s probably not often said, but, I think we should heed a Kardashian’s words and sort this issue out.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

